Weather Forecast


Update 1:55 a.m. Final results: Kalina, Meyer, Larson win county board races

The first precinct to return ballots to the Douglas County Courthouse was the city of Nelson. The votes came in about 8:45 p.m. (Al Edenloff / Echo Press)1 / 2
“Vote Here” signs, such as this one at Lake Community Church in Alexandria, point voters toward polling places. Polls will remain open until 8:00 Tuesday night. (Lowell Anderson / Echo Press)2 / 2

In a battle of newcomers in Douglas County District 2, Tim Kalina edged Judy Backhaus for county commissoner. Meanwhile, incumbent Charlie Meyer prevailed in the District 4 race.

Votes in all 37 precincts were tabulated shortly before 2 a.m. 

Some new faces will be serving on the Douglas County Board and the Alexandria City Council.

Challenger Heather Larson defeated incumbent Owen Miller in Douglas County Commissioner District 5 while Roger Thalman edged incumbent Bob Kuhlman for the council's Ward 2 seat.

School board results in Brandon/Evansville, Osakis, Minnewaska and Parkers Prairie are also posted below.

Republican candidates stood tall in Douglas County. Voters didn't support a single DFL candidate. U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar, DFL, came the closest with 47 percent of the vote but county voters still preferred challenger Jim Newberger who lost statewide.

Voter turnout was high in Douglas County. Of the 24,838 registered voters, 18,166 cast ballots, a turnout of 73 percent. It fell short of the 90 percent turnout for the presidential election in 2016.

Here are the final results of key contested races in the county:

Alexandria City Council Ward 2

Bob Kuhlman (incumbent) 500

Roger Thalman 522 (winner)

With 1 of 1 precincts reporting.

Douglas County Board District 2

Judy Backhaus 1,567

Tim Kalina 1,889 (winner)

Jim Stratton (write-in candidate) no specific totals but there were a total of 144 write-in votes.

With 6 of 6 precincts reporting.

Douglas County Board District 4

Charlie Meyer (incumbent) 2,213 (winner)

Mike Woods 1,263

With 3 of 3 precincts reporting.

Douglas County Board District 5

Owen Miller (incumbent) 1,166

Heather Larson 1,473 (winner)

With 3 of 3 precincts reporting.

State Representative District 8B

Mary Franson, R (incumbent) 6,628

Gail Kulp, DFL 4,653

With 17 of 17 precincts reporting in Douglas County. (There are 54 precincts districtwide.)

Franson also won districtwide with 62 percent of the vote.

State Representative District 12A

Jeff Backer, R (incumbent) 1,829

Murray Smart, DFL 866

With 12 of 12 precincts reporting in Douglas County. (There are 147 precincts districtwide.)

Backer also won districtwide with 62 percentof the vote.

State Representative District 12B

Paul Anderson, R (incumbent) 2,735

Ben Schirmers, DFL 1,288

With 8 of 8 precincts reporting in Douglas County. (There are 61 precincts districtwide.)

Anderson also won districtwide with 71 percent of the vote.

U.S. Representative, District 7

Collin Peterson, DFL (incumbent) 8,577

Dave Hughes, R 9,419

With 37 of 37 precincts reporting in Douglas County. (There are 1,329 precincts districtwide.)

Peterson won districtwide with 52 percent of the vote.

Other local contested races

Brandon mayor

Roger Campbell 172 (winner)

Kevin Challes 45

Brandon City Council, two positions

Scott Pohlman (the only candidate to file) 203

Brandon Township, supervisor Seat A

Gene Fynboh 118

Bryan Meichsner 236

Carlos City Council, two positions

Doreley Glisson 54

Teresa Zwieg 141 (winner)

Ronna Berghoff 111 (winner)

Evansville mayor

Darren "Tubby" Henrichs 38

Calvin Lundeen 125 (winner)

Monica Olson 71

Evansville City Council, two positions

Julie Aasness 162 (winner)

Deb Berry 108 (winner)

Trista Jacobson 45

Richard Novotny 30

Jamie Okerlund 41

Mary Thorstad 42

Forada mayor

(No one filed.)

Garfield City Council, two positions

Ryan Holverson 56 (winner)

Wanda Swenson 48

Trent Ziegelman 86 (winner)

Kensington City Council, special election

Emmy Maheux (Leverson) 56 (winner)

Lana Rau 51

Miltona City Council, two positions

Brian Carpenter 85 (tie)

David Carter 85 (tie)

Mickey Lint 87 (winner)

Miltona Township treasurer

(No one filed.)

Miltona Township ballot question, should clerk be appointed?

Yes: 348

No: 105

Miltona Township ballot question, should treasurer be appointed?

Yes: 349

No: 100

Osakis mayor

Keith "Kip" Emerson 365 (winner)

Paul Hartmann 314

Osakis City Council, two positions

Randy Anderson 267 (winner)

Laura Backes 428 (winner)

Alan Larson 170

Joseph Nathe 136

James Snyder 197

Brandon/Evansville School Board, three positions

Jana Anderson 514 (winner)

David Berry 438

Randy Bettermann 675 (winner)

Rebecca Boesl 383

Amanda Johnson 346

Diane Richter 525 (winner)

Ben Rusch 315

Jaci Stepan 469

Katherine VanderWyst 166

Rachel Wagner 471

With 16 of 16 precincts reporting districtwide.

Osakis School Board, three positions

Fran Breiter 402

Greg Faber 804 (winner)

Chris George 878 (winner)

Dirk Hagedon 482

Chad Hagen 578

Becky Hensley 1,047 (winner)

With 12 of 12 precincts reporting districtwide.

Minnewaska School Board, three positions

Denise Gades Dougherty 915

Nick Gugisberg 1,869 (winner)

Ted Reichmann 2,075 (winner)

Sadie Schlief 1,756 

Wes Tessman 1,427

Susan VanDyke 957

Justin Zavadil 2,105 (winner)

With 30 of 30 precincts reporting districtwide.

Minnewaska School Board, special election for one seat

Chad Christianson 1,977 (winner)

Judd Kuehne 695

Bobbi Jo Matt 1,208

With 30 of 30 precincts reporting districtwide.

Parkers Prairie School Board, four positions

Nancy Euteneuer 551

Christy Hart 798 (winner)

Steve Inwards 865 (winner)

Judith Moeller 693 (winner)

Sheryl Myers 398

Lyle Oeltjenbruns 726 (winner)

With 12 of 12 precincts reporting districtwide.

Parkers Prairie School District ballot question to renew referendum revenue

Yes: 813

No: 409

(All of the above results are unofficial.)

Al Edenloff

Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  

(320) 763-1236