Weather Forecast


Eight champions crowned in Resorters Golf Tournament w/video

1 / 2
The 2018 Resorters Golf Tournament champions are (back row, left to right) Randy Johnson (Masters), Brian Choe (Men's), Jodi Sullivan (Women's Executive), Troy Johnson (Men's Executive), Chris Haugen (Senior Men's); (front row, left to right) Charlie Moen (Junior 10-12), Davis Johnson (Junior 13-15) and Stephanie Herzog (Women's). (Al Edenloff / Echo Press) 2 / 2

Champions in eight divisions were determined at the 97th annual Resorters Golf Tournament played at the Alexandria Golf Club (AGC) Saturday.

The week-long tournament began with qualifying rounds, progressed with match play and ended with the final championship matches Saturday afternoon. The final rounds provided plenty of excitement for the gallery that followed the action -- five of the matches weren't decided until the 15th hole or later. 

This year's field of champions includes:

Men's Division -- Brian Choe, a Coppell, Texas native and golfer at Kansas State University. This was his third Resorters appearance. Last year, he made it to the quarter-finals. This time, he advanced into the final match with a Saturday morning 2-1 win against JJ Svac of Maple Grove before defeating Nate Adams, also of Maple Grove 1-up in 18 holes.

Women's Division -- Stephanie Herzog of Redwing who edged her sister, Leah Herzog, also of Redwing in the final match, 4-3. The two had never faced each other in a championship of a match-play event.

Senior Men's Division -- Chris Haugen of Alexandria, last year's champion.  Haugen successfully defended his title by taking down Jon Empanger of Chaska, who owns eight Resorters' titles, 1-up.

Men's Executive Division -- Troy Johnson of Maple Grove, who defeated four-time Executive Division champion Daryl Schomer of St. Cloud in the final match, 3-2. Johnson made it to the finals by getting past Alexandria's Dave Dilley in the semifinals Saturday morning, 4-2.  

Women's Executive Division -- Jodi (Krafka) Sullivan, who lived in Alexandria in the 1980s. In a rematch from last year's championship match, Sullivan avenged her loss against Betsy Aldrich of Minnetonka by winning 1-up. Sullivan won the Resorters Women's Championship in 1985 and 1987.

Masters Division -- Randy Johnson of Alexandria, a member of the AGC. He defeated fellow AGC member Ron Way in the finals, 5-4.

Junior Division, 13-15 -- Davis Johnson of Chaska, the division champion last year. This time around Johnson edged Cole Harste of Glenwood, 3-2.

Junior Division, 10-12 -- Charlie Moen of Edina defeated the division's two time champion, Bennett Olsen of Alexandria, 1-up.

See Wednesday's Echo Press for more details and photos from the tournament.

Al Edenloff

Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  

(320) 763-1236